• Register to Access the Free Forums and 3 Free CEUs!

To view the content for the 3 free CEUs, please sign up today.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER
  • Missing Access To A Course, Blitz or Exam? Have Technical Issues? Open a Help Desk Ticket
    Please Do Not Post in the Community About Access or Technical Issues
    CCO Business Hours for Help Desk and Coaching: Mon-Fri 9am-4pm Eastern

Resolved Question regarding hemiplegia and Dominant/nondominant side

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

Please help me understand how the apply the Chp 6. guideline for hemiplegia and dominant/nondominant side. I have been coding for five years and I have only seen a provider document which side is dominant once, lol.

Let's say a patient has L hemiparesis due to MS. The provider did not document which side is dominant. Would I be correct if I coded G81.94 (Hemiplegia, unspecified affecting left nondominant side).

Does "dominant" always mean "right sided" because most of the population is right handed?

Thanks for your help,
Crystal

Hello,

Please help me understand how the apply the Chp 6. guideline for hemiplegia and dominant/nondominant side. I have been coding for five years and I have only seen a provider document which side is dominant once, lol.

Let's say a patient has L hemiparesis due to MS. The provider did not document which side is dominant. Would I be correct if I coded G81.94 (Hemiplegia, unspecified affecting left nondominant side).

Does "dominant" always mean "right sided" because most of the population is right handed?

Thanks for your help,
Crystal
Let me clarify... does "default" mean right, because most people are right handed?

It states right in the guidelines how to determine the default.

Chapter 6: Diseases of the Nervous System (G00-G99)
a. Dominant/nondominant side
Codes from category G81, Hemiplegia and hemiparesis, and subcategories
G83.1, Monoplegia of lower limb, G83.2, Monoplegia of upper limb, and G83.3,